The Flash has confirmed which of its cast members are set to appear in season eight.

On Wednesday (June 30) Warner Bros. Television announced (via Deadline) that it had closed new deals with long-time players Jesse L. Martin, Candice Patton and Danielle Panabaker.

This means that the trio – whose contracts were up at the end of season seven – will definitely be joining Grant Gustin, who plays the titular speedster, in the Arrowverse outing’s upcoming instalment.

Warner Bros. Television and The CW have not yet indicated whether the superhero series will continue beyond season eight.

Having all been around since the very first episode, Martin brings Central City detective Joe West to life, while Patton portrays his daughter – and Barry Allen’s wife – Iris West-Allen. During her time on the show, Panabaker has starred as both Caitlin Snow, a bioengineer at S.T.A.R. Labs, and her meta-human alter-ego Killer Frost.

Earlier this year, it was announced that Cisco Ramon/Vibe actor Carlos Valdes and Tom Cavanagh, who has played a bunch of versions of his character Harrison Wells, wouldn’t be returning following the season seven finale.

“Tom and Carlos have been an integral part of our show for seven seasons, and will be greatly missed,” showrunner Eric Wallace said in a statement at the time.

“Both are incredible talents who created beloved characters that fans and audiences around the world have come to love. Which is why we are happily keeping the door open for return appearances.”

The Flash airs on The CW in the US. Sky One and NOW air the show in the UK.


By Ivaylo Angelov

Ivaylo Angelov born in Bulgaria, Varna graduated School Geo Milev is Tvserieswelove's Soaps Editor and oversees all of the section's news, features, spoilers and interviews.